Scott McLaughlin wins Portland Grand Prix, Will Energy leads title race, highlights, information

Australian Will Energy has tightened his grip on the Indycar season title whereas Penske Racing teammate and former Supercars star Scott McLaughlin captured Sunday’s Portland Grand Prix with a dominant efficiency.

Pole-sitter McLaughlin captured his third profession IndyCar victory after main 104 of 110 laps on the 12-turn, 1.964-mile street course at Portland (Oregon) Worldwide Raceway.

“The automotive felt good in that first stint however because the race went on it obtained slightly bit worse,” McLaughlin mentioned. “I simply had to focus on the place the strengths had been within the automotive and attempt to work with these and the weaknesses, make one of the best of them.”

Watch Each Follow, Qualifying & Race of the 2022 FIA System One World Championship™ Reside on Kayo. New to Kayo? Begin your free trial now >

Energy completed second and stretched his season factors edge from solely three to 523-503 over American Josef Newgarden and New Zealand’s Scott Dixon with the 17-race marketing campaign concluding subsequent Sunday at Laguna Seca, the place a podium end could be sufficient to safe the crown for Energy.

“That’s nonetheless very robust,” Energy mentioned. “We’re in one of the best place. We’ve obtained one of the best shot. We’ll do the whole lot we are able to.” Dixon, chasing a record-tying seventh profession season title, was third after having began sixteenth and leaping from sixth to 3rd after a restart with 22 laps remaining.

“We needed to drive via the sphere,” Dixon mentioned. “We tried as onerous as potential on that final run.

“We’re nonetheless within the battle. Something is feasible. We’re in it and we’ll by no means hand over till it’s over.” Newgarden completed eighth however has a season-high 5 race wins for a tie-breaker edge over all rivals.

“We’ll go to Laguna and simply attempt to be quick,” Newgarden mentioned. “We’re going to go and attempt to win that race and go for broke.” Indianapolis 500 winner Marcus Ericsson of Sweden, 39 factors again, and McLaughlin, 41 adrift, have longshot title probabilities.

“Yeah, we’re a longshot however I don’t care,” McLaughlin mentioned. “We have now a shot and I’m wanting ahead to it.”

McLaughlin, who additionally received this yr at St. Petersburg and Mid-Ohio, took his seventh podium of the season and fourth in 5 races to remain within the season championship chase.

“We did precisely what we would have liked to do that weekend and that was win and get max factors, maintain ourselves within the battle,” McLaughlin mentioned.

Energy received his solely IndyCar season crown in 2014 whereas Newgarden took titles in 2017 and 2019 and was runner-up the previous two years.

“I wish to win this championship for the fellows which were with me for greater than a decade,” Energy mentioned. “They deserve it for the ache through the years of shedding so many.” McLaughlin and front-row neighbor Energy stayed 1-2 from the beginning via the final pit stops.

Dutchman Rinus VeeKay knocked American Jimmie Johnson into the outer wall of the primary straightaway on lap 84 to deliver out the one warning flag and arrange a restart with 22 laps remaining.

On the restart, Mexico’s Pato O’Ward bumped Energy and blocked Dixon within the sharp right-hand first flip, race management forcing O’Ward to let Dixon overtake him for third for the violation.js/bb

Leave a Comment