One seat left on 2023 F2 grid as ART promote F3 champion Martins · RaceFans

FIA Components 3 champion Victor Martins will be part of Theo Pourchaire at ART for his first season in Components 2, the group has confirmed.

Martins claimed the F3 title with the group final yr in dramatic circumstances on the last spherical in Monza, beating Zane Maloney to the crown by simply 5 factors.

After two seasons within the FIA F3 collection, Martins will stay with the group and be part of Pourchaire for his first season within the second-tier single-seater championship. The 21-year-old accomplished three days of testing in an F2 automotive with ART on the post-season check in Abu Dhabi final yr, masking virtually 1,200km over the check in preparation for his step as much as the collection.

Martins says he might be aiming to struggle for the championship in his first season in F2.

“After a profitable yr with ART Grand Prix, I used to be not contemplating taking the subsequent step with some other group,” he stated.

“I can’t wait to find the Components 2 championship, which is hard and aggressive, with such knowledgeable and skilled group. The checks made it doable to take away what little doubts I might need had about my adaptation as a result of I felt comfy and assured. My goal will due to this fact be to do the whole lot doable to win the title in my first yr.”

ART group supervisor Sebastien Philippe believes Martins has the power to adapt to the brand new collection rapidly and be aggressive from the early part of the championship.

“Victor made huge progress in 2022 and has confirmed that in each troublesome private and sporting situations, he has the psychological power and the expertise to attain nice issues on the highest degree of motorsport,” stated Philippe.

“The Abu Dhabi checks confirmed his skill to adapt rapidly and effectively to his new single-seater. His dedication, his enthusiasm and his conquering spirit might be weapons in a championship the place competitors is fierce.”

Martins’ affirmation leaves only one last seat to be stuffed for this yr’s Components 2 championship – that of the second MP Motorsport driver alongside Purple Bull junior Dennis Hauger. Former Purple Bull junior driver Jehan Daruvala examined for the group at Yas Marina on the finish of final season.

2023 Components 2 driver line-up

Crew Drivers
MP Dennis Hauger TBC
Carlin Enzo Fittipaldi Zane Maloney
ART Theo Pourchaire Victor Martins
Prema Frederik Vesti Oliver Bearman
Hitech Jak Crawford Isack Hadjar
DAMS Ayumu Iwasa Arthur Leclerc
Virtuosi Jack Doohan Amaury Cordeel
PHM by Charouz Roy Nissany Brad Benavides
Trident Clement Novalak Roman Stanek
Van Amersfoort Richard Verschoor Juan Manuel Correa
Campos Ralph Boschung Kush Maini

Advert | Turn out to be a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Components 2

Browse all Components 2 articles

Leave a Comment