Ex-F1 driver Jos Verstappen set for WRC debut at Ypres Rally

The daddy of reigning F1 world champion Max Verstappen is about to deal with the tarmac Ypres Rally, which can host the ninth spherical of the WRC from18-21 August.

Verstappen’s inclusion on the rally’s entry record arrives lower than six months since he made his rally debut within the Belgian Rally Championship in February.

Verstappen, who clocked up 106 begins throughout his F1 profession with Benetton, Simtek, Footwork, Tyrrell, Stewart, Arrows and Minardi, has been a daily in Belgian rally scene this season driving a Citroën C3 Rally2, which he’ll once more pilot at Ypres. He will likely be partnered by compatriot Hurt van Koppen.

The 50-year-old’s finest end result so far was a second place end on the Station Le Seau Monteburg Rally in Could.

Verstappen completed eighth on debut at Rally van Haspengouw in February, retired from the South Belgian Rally in March and crashed out of Rally van Wervik in June.

Jos Verstappen, Minardi Cosworth PS03

Jos Verstappen, Minardi Cosworth PS03

Photograph by: Sutton Photos

Ypres Rally is more likely to signify Verstappen’s largest problem of his fledgling rally profession, with the Dutchman set to compete in a subject of 37 Rally2 machines, which make up a part of an 88 automobile entry for the occasion.

Verstappen is nevertheless acquainted with the the difficult asphalt roads following appearances on comparable levels up to now this season.

The Ypres Rally entry record is headed by 10 Rally1 entries with M-Sport electing to cut back its contingent to a few Ford Pumas for regulars Craig Breen, Gus Greensmith and Adrien Fourmaux.

Pierre-Louis Loubet, who has been competing for M-Sport on the majority of occasions this yr, will sit out this spherical because the rally just isn’t a part of his seven-round roster.

Oliver Solberg will proceed to pilot the third Hyundai i20 entry earlier than handing over the automobile to Dani Sordo for the Acropolis Rally in Greece in September.

Toyota will as soon as once more subject an unchanged line-up with Esapekka Lappi retaining the seat of the third GR Years he has been sharing with eight-time world champion Sebastien Ogier.

Leave a Comment