Di Grassi wins second London race as Vandoorne extends championship lead · RaceFans

Lucas di Grassi has received the second London Components E race, having performed a strategic sport to outdo Jake Dennis with Assault Mode.

Dennis had taken one other dominant pole place earlier within the day. Di Grassi began the race alongside him, with Antonio Giovinazzi and Antonio Felix Da Costa on the row behind.

Drivers have been permitted three Assault Mode activations of 4 minutes every for the second race, yet one more than on Saturday, however in the end the identical period of time.

The title protagonists had all did not make the duels stage in qualifying. Jean-Eric Vergne certified tenth with Mitch Evans and Stoffel Vandoorne shared row seven and Edoardo Mortara was down in seventeenth.

Vergne’s race ended on lap one with radiator harm. Oliver Askew and Oliver Rowland got here collectively on the ramp part of the observe and Rowland’s automotive briefly lifted itself on Askew’s, driving up on the wheel cowl of the Andretti in an incident paying homage to Alex Lynn’s Diriyah crash final yr.

Thankfully, Rowland’s automotive didn’t launch however crashed again all the way down to the observe, breaking its suspension, Rowland limping again to the Mahindra pit. On the identical lap Dan Ticktum retired with a visibly broken automotive after hitting a barrier, knocking his right-front wheel onto its facet.

The Security Automobile was consequently referred to as for whereas marshals cleared the circuit of particles and vehicles. The race restarted with just below 40 minutes remaining, Dennis holding the lead and Nyck de Vries taking the chance to activate Assault Mode and briefly transfer as much as second.

Advert | Turn into a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Giovinazzi efficiently defended third from Da Costa and regarded like a podium contender till he was introduced as being beneath investigation for over-use of energy. He was given a drive-through penalty, sending him to the again of the sphere and in the end retired within the pits.

Askew was additionally issued a drive-through penalty for the collision with Rowland, which additionally noticed him retire. Nick Cassidy, who slowed behind the security automotive with a mechanical situation, retired as properly.

Dennis and Di Grassi fought via the center part of the race, Dennis shedding the result in Dennis briefly when he activated his second Assault Mode. Dennis was in a position to overtake Di Grassi however the Venturi driver stayed shut with him and was in a position to keep away from any risk from De Vries behind, because the Mercedes got here beneath strain from Mitch Evans.

When Dennis took his last Assault Mode, Di Grassi received forward of Dennis once more and this time was in a position to draw back, De Vries being shut sufficient that Dennis needed to defend from him greater than assault Di Grassi. Di Grassi was in a position to proceed to drag out a lead within the last laps, of greater than three seconds by the race finish.

Three minutes have been added to the race time because of the Security Automobile. Mitch Evans’ automotive then slowed on the chicane, then went off observe. He crawled again to the pits, shedding fourth place and handing it – and a 36-point title lead – to Stoffel Vandoorne.

Di Grassi noticed the chequered flag first, Dennis and De Vries following him over the road. Di Grassi’s win places Venturi forward of DS Techeetah within the groups’ championship however nonetheless trailing leaders Mercedes.

It’s Di Grassi’s first win for Venturi, his thirteenth in Components E, bringing him even with Sebastien Buemi for probably the most profession victories within the collection.

Advert | Turn into a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Driver Workforce
1 Lucas di Grassi Venturi
2 Jake Dennis Andretti
3 Nyck de Vries Mercedes EQ
4 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes EQ
5 Antonio Felix da Costa DS Techeetah
6 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.Dams
7 Robin Frijns Envision
8 Sam Fowl Jaguar
9 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon Penske
10 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
11 Alexander Sims Mahindra
12 André Lotterer Porsche
13 Edoardo Mortara Venturi
14 Oliver Turvey NIO 333
15 Maximilian Günther Nissan e.Dams
DNF Mitch Evans Jaguar
DNF Nick Cassidy Envision
DNF Oliver Askew Andretti
DNF Antonio Giovinazzi Dragon Penske
DNF Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
DNF Dan Ticktum NIO 333
DNF Oliver Rowland Mahindra
Teppei Natori Trident

Advert | Turn into a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2022 F1 season

Browse all 2022 F1 season articles

Leave a Comment