Begin time, find out how to watch, entry listing and so forth

This would be the 14th Indy automotive race at World Vast Expertise Raceway. The primary was a CART collection race in 1997 when Paul Tracy gained in a Penske-Mercedes-Benz, whereas in 2001 after the observe switched allegiance to grew to become an Indy Racing League occasion, it was gained by Al Unser Jr. in a G-Drive-Oldsmobile run by Galles Racing.

After 2003, the occasion went on hiatus till 2017, when Josef Newgarden gained after a memorable elbows-out move on Penske-Chevrolet teammate Simon Pagenaud into Flip 1. He has since scored two extra wins there, and is the defending winner. Different former Gateway winners on the grid embrace Energy, Sato, Dixon and Helio Castroneves, whose triumph right here got here as way back as 2003.

There have been eight totally different winners in 15 IndyCar races in 2022: Josef Newgarden (4), Scott McLaughlin, Scott Dixon and Pato O’Ward (2), and Colton Herta, Marcus Ericsson, Will Energy and Alexander Rossi. Energy presently leads the championship, simply six factors forward of Dixon, 12 forward of Ericsson, 22 forward of Newgarden, 33 forward of defending champion Alex Palou, 58 forward of McLaughlin and 59 forward of O’Ward.

For Callum Ilott (Juncos Hollinger Racing) and Christian Lundgaard (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) this might be WWT Raceway debut, whereas fellow rookies Kyle Kirkwood, Devlin DeFrancesco, David Malukas have all raced right here on the Highway To Indy.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Helio Castroneves will make his 372nd IndyCar begin, whereas Dixon will make his 303rd consecutive begin, the second-longest streak in IndyCar historical past.

When is the IndyCar race at Gateway’s World Vast Expertise Raceway?

Date: Friday, August 19 – Saturday, August 20

Begin time: Saturday, 5.30pm Central Time

How can I watch the IndyCar race at Gateway?

USA Community’s protection of the 2022 Bommarito Automotive Group 500 introduced by Axalta and Valvoline will start at 5.00pm CT.

Leigh Diffey would be the announcer alongside analysts Townsend Bell and James Hinchcliffe. All NTT IndyCar Collection observe periods and qualifying will stream dwell on Peacock Premium, NBC’s livestreaming product, whereas NBC’s race telecast might be simulcast on the streaming service. Peacock Premium’s unique post-race present might be streamed following the race. The Indy Lights race might be streamed on Peacock Premium, with observe and qualifying being proven on IndyCar Dwell!

IndyCar broadcast schedule (Central Time)

Friday, August 19

12.00-1.00pm – NTT IndyCar Collection first observe – Peacock Premium
– NTT IndyCar Collection qualifying Peacock Premium
– IndyCar “high-line” observe for 9 automobiles – Peacock Premium
6.45-7.45pm – NTT IndyCar Collection last observe – Peacock Premium

Saturday, August 20

5.00pm USA Community on air
– “Drivers begin your engines”
5.30pm Inexperienced flag for the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 introduced by Axalta & Valvoline (260 laps/325 miles) USA Community dwell

Will the IndyCar race in Gateway be on the radio?

Mark Jaynes is chief announcer alongside analyst Davey Hamilton. Nick Yeoman is the flip announcer, whereas pit reporters are Jake Question and Michael Younger. The Bommarito Automotive Group 500 and all practices and qualifying periods, air dwell on community associates, SiriusXM 160, and the IndyCar app powered by NTT DATA.

Race Notes

What number of laps is the IndyCar race at Gateway? 260 laps (325 miles)

Monitor: 1.25-mile oval in Madison, IL.

Firestone tire allotment: 9 units of tires to be used all through the weekend, with these collaborating within the nine-car “high-line” session gaining an additional set to be used in that session alone.

2021 WWT Raceway winner: Josef Newgarden, Crew Penske-Chevrolet

2021 WWT Raceway pole-winner: Will Energy, Crew Penske-Chevrolet, (two laps, 49.8289sec, 180.618mph)

One-lap qualifying lap file: Energy, 23.7206sec (189.709mph), Aug. 25, 2017.

Entry listing

No. Driver Hometown Automobile identify Crew-Engine
2 Josef Newgarden Nashville, Tennessee PPG Crew Penske Crew Penske-Chevrolet
3 Scott McLaughlin Christchurch, New Zealand Odyssey Battery Crew Penske Crew Penske-Chevrolet
4 Dalton Kellett Stouffville, Canada Okay-Line / AJ Foyt Racing A.J. Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
5 Pato O’Ward Monterrey, Mexico Arrow McLaren SP Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
06 Helio Castroneves Sao Paulo, Brazil AutoNation / SiriusXM Meyer Shank Racing-Honda
7 Felix Rosenqvist Varnamo, Sweden Arrow McLaren SP Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
8 Marcus Ericsson Kumla, Sweden Bryant Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
9 Scott Dixon Auckland, New Zealand PNC Financial institution Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
10 Alex Palou Barcelona, Spain American Legion Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
12 Will Energy Toowoomba, Australia Verizon Crew Penske Crew Penske-Chevrolet
14 Kyle Kirkwood (R) Jupiter, Florida Bommarito / AJ Foyt Racing A.J. Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
15 Graham Rahal New Albany, Ohio iPacket Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
18 David Malukas (R) Chicago, Illinois HMD Dale Coyne Racing with HMD Motorsports-Honda
20 Conor Daly Noblesville, Indiana BitNile Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
21 Rinus VeeKay Hoofddorp, Netherlands Bitcoin Racing Crew with BitNile Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
26 Colton Herta Valencia, California Gainbridge Andretti Autosport w/Curb Agajanian-Honda
27 Alexander Rossi Nevada Metropolis, California NAPA Auto Elements / AutoNation Andretti Autosport-Honda
28 Romain Grosjean Geneva, Switzerland DHL Andretti Autosport-Honda
29 Devlin DeFrancesco (R) Toronto, Canada PowerTap Andretti Steinbrenner Autosport-Honda
30 Christian Lundgaard (R) Hedensted, Denmark Mi-Jack Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
33 Ed Carpenter Indianapolis, Indiana Alzamend Neuro Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
45 Jack Harvey Bassingham, UK Hy-Vee Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
48 Jimmie Johnson El Cajon, California Carvana Chip Ganassi Racing Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda
51 Takuma Sato Tokyo, Japan Nurtec ODT Dale Coyne Racing with RWR-Honda
60 Simon Pagenaud Montmorillon, France AutoNation / SiriusXM Meyer Shank Racing-Honda
77 Callum Ilott (R) Cambridge, UK Juncos Hollinger Racing Juncos Hollinger Racing-Chevrolet

Leave a Comment